Basic Tips for Close Reading


Now I am close reading my primer sources; in other words performing operation on the books. It is not easy as it needs close reading skills, great focus and of course stamina to finish those thick pages. At first I was a bit clueless on how to read, what to focus on, etc but after attending workshops, reading here and there, watching related videos, I started to get the idea.

Truthfully, I am not well trained in research skills. During my BA days, I experienced an old-school kind of education in Tehran; we used to memorize poems, read prose and write direct interpretations of literary texts. That was all. Nothing like making analysis or anything related to research.

Then, I faced an extremely hard time when I did my MA in America as I was totally unfamiliar with Western education system. Basically, students there are used to do critical thinking, analyzing and writing academic essays. However, I was a total beginner and of course I shed tears, sweat and blood (LOL) to catch up.

Now during PhD I really need to master research skills in order to survive my PhD. It is not the time to be spoon-fed anymore, so I made an extensive personal search for research skills (besides attending academic workshops). I was so surprised to find that one of the skills; close reading, has been taught to students since kindergarten. WOW! I found teachers’ guides and charts to teach close reading and analysis and  suddenly I felt envious. HAHAHA! No wonder my university classmates are so good!

Here I would like to share some tips on close reading for school students. I don’t mind learning from the basics or referring to kids’ charts since I found them to be useful for my own research. Better late than never, rite?
closereading2Here are the questions we can consider during close reading.

closereading3

And also a cute check list!closereading1